Mission of the Venture Lab Aerospace

The goal of the Aerospace Venture Lab is to promote and increase innovative and high-quality start-up activities as part of the TU Munich's excellence strategy in the fields of aerospace and geodesy as well as high-speed transportation systems within the TUM technology ecosystem.

 

Offerings Venture Lab Aerospace

Innovation Areas of the Venture Lab Aerospace

Aeronautics, space and geodesy are future-oriented innovation fields of cross-sectional technologies. While an interdisciplinary approach of 'classical' engineering fields (material sciences, fluid dynamics, electronics, etc.) has always been required, significant future progress is based on the integration of new disciplines, such as artificial intelligence, miniaturization and battery technology.
Due to globally growing mobility, progressive (commercial) development of the earth orbit and increased demand for (real-time) earth observation data, the renowned research in the disciplines of aeronautics, space and geodesy has a high future value at TUM and represents the basis for the settlement and strengthening of a key industry for Germany, Bavaria and Munich. Here, there is access to an extensive network of world-class companies and start-ups, which is supported by an extraordinarily strong research, innovation and university environment. At the same time, there is a need to catch up with the global dominant markets and companies in the USA and industries in many areas.
The current developments within the thematic areas offer an ideal breeding ground for start-ups, as, for example, digital business models and miniaturization are now making start-ups increasingly possible even in the aerospace sector, which is typically difficult to invest in. 
In aerospace, the launch costs for satellites have fallen by an order of magnitude, with simultaneous miniaturization of the satellites. As a result, start-ups are now able to manufacture and operate their own satellites at a reasonable cost. 
In geodesy and earth observation, there is an explosion of available data, both in temporal, geometric, and spectral dimensions. In this field, there are countless potential applications of global scope that can only be realized with the help of modern, digital and AI-based solutions.
Likewise, in the field of unmanned aerial vehicles, costs have dropped massively and new fields of application have been opened up, such as 'last-mile' transportation, but also short-range passenger transport (Lilium).
Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

Mission des Aerospace Venture Lab

Ziel des Aerospace Venture Lab ist die Förderung und Erhöhung der innovativen und qualitativ hochwertigen Gründungsaktivitäten als Teil der Exzellenzstrategie der TU München im Bereich der Luftfahrt, Raumfahrt und Geodäsie sowie Hochgeschwindigkeits-Transportsysteme innerhalb des TUM Technologie-Ökosystems.

Offerings Venture Lab Aerospace

Melde Dich jetzt für unseren Newsletter an:

https://tumventurelabs.aidaform.com/tum-venture-labs-newsletter

Innovationsbereiche des Venture Lab Aerospace

Luftfahrt, Raumfahrt und Geodäsie sind zukunftsweisende Innovationsfelder von Querschnittstechnologien. Während schon immer ein interdisziplinärer Ansatz ‘klassischer’ Ingenieurbereiche (Materialwissenschaften, Fluiddynamik, Elektronik, etc.) gefordert war, basiert signifikanter zukünftiger Fortschritt auf der Einbindung neuer Disziplinen, wie Künstliche Intelligenz, Miniaturisierung und Batterietechnologie.

Durch global wachsende Mobilität, fortschreitend (kommerzielle) Erschließung der Erdumlaufbahn und  vermehrtem Datenbedarf an (Echtzeit-)Erdbeobachtungsdaten, besitzt die renommierte Forschung in den Disziplinen Luftfahrt, Raumfahrt und Geodäsie einen hohen Zukunftswert an der TUM und stellt die Grundlage für die Ansiedlung und Stärkung einer Schlüsselindustrie für Deutschland, Bayern und München dar. Hier kann auf ein umfangreiches Netzwerk an Firmen und Start-ups von Weltrang zurückgegriffen werden, welches durch ein außerordentlich starkes Forschungs-, Innovations- und Universitätsumfeld unterstützt wird. Gleichzeitig besteht zu vielen Bereichen ein Nachholbedarf gegenüber den globalen dominierenden Märkten und Firmen in den USA und Industrien.

Die aktuellen Entwicklungen innerhalb der Themengebiete bieten einen idealen Nährboden für Gründungen, da durch z.b. digitale Geschäftsmodelle und Miniaturisierung auch im typischerweise investionsschweren Aerospace-Bereich nun Gründungen vermehrt möglich sind. 

In der Raumfahrt sind die Startkosten für Satelliten um eine Größenordnung gesunken, bei gleichzeitiger Miniaturisierung der Satelliten. Dies hat zur Folge, dass nun auch Start-ups eigene Satelliten mit finanzierbarem Aufwand herstellen und betreiben können. 

In der Geodäsie und Erdbeobachtung kommt es zu einer Explosion der verfügbaren Daten, sowohl in temporaler, geometrischer, als auch in spektraler Dimension. In diesem Feld gibt es unzählige Anwendungsmöglichkeiten von globaler Tragweite, die nur mit Hilfe moderner, digitaler und KI-gestützter Lösungen realisierbar sind.

Ebenso sind in der Luftfahrt im Bereich der unbemannten Fluggeräte die Kosten massiv gesunken und neue Anwendungsfelder erschlossen worden, wie z.B. ‘last-mile’ transportation, aber auch der Kurzstrecken Personenverkehr (Lilium).